Nukes shut down since 1988


Since the original decommissioning rule was published in 1988, seven power reactor facilities have shut down prematurely:
       Fort St. Vrain Nuclear Generating Station
       Shoreham Nuclear Power Station
       Rancho Seco Nuclear Generating Station
       Yankee Rowe Nuclear Station
       San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station, Unit 1
       Trojan Nuclear Plant
       Haddam Neck Plant
Three Mile Island Nuclear Station, Unit 2, also ceased operation after the accident on March 28, 1979. In addition, Indian Point Nuclear Generating Station Unit 1, Dresden Nuclear Power Station Unit 1, Humboldt Bay Power Plant Unit 3, and LaCrosse Boiling Water Reactor, which were shut down in 1974, 1978, 1980, and 1987, respectively, are in the decommissioning process. FY 1996 decommissioning highlights for individual plants are outlined below.

This web page has been presented on the World Wide Web by:

The Animated Software Company
Mail to:
First posted June 25th, 2001.

Webwiz: Russell D. Hoffman